Mundania: Old Houses, Coloring Pages, and College Plans

To lead up to Easter, DJ got the bright idea to order poster-sized coloring pages of the fourteen Stations of the Cross. He left them on a table in the church and invited people to color them. But that’s all he did — he didn’t specify any coloring times, organize any snacks, nothing. Just said, “Feel free to color.”

Oh, and he also bought two 64-pack crayons to go on the table too.

And people colored those pages. Mostly kids, but some adults did, too. In fact, some of the kids hid the pictures from DJ so he couldn’t hang them up before they finished them. He found them and hung them anyway. The Sunday before Easter, he walked into the fellowship room to see this:

20170413_183112

On Easter morning, all fourteen stations were fully colored… as was the fifteenth and best of all:

part0-1

It was a surprisingly successful idea.

*

20170409_092220

This is an abandoned house along the remains of a road near us. I first noticed the  sign for Red Post Road because it branched off the main highway. So I followed it. It ran a few hundred feet, but then it disappeared… in a church parking lot. I explored the area a bit, and discovered that after I crossed the four-lane highway and a Sheetz gas station, Red Post Road reappeared briefly before merging into the highway again.

In my mind, I removed the four-lane highway and gas station, and reconstructed Red Post Road. It didn’t disappear in the church parking lot — the parking lot was Red Post Road. Then I saw this house. It was built near Red Post Road, was probably pretty grand in its day.

I felt a pang as I thought of what this place used to be. People lived here. They had neighbors — all traces of them are gone now. They’d sit on the porch in the evenings, and recognize every car ambling past.

I snapped this picture just to remember what I never knew in the first place.

*

On a related note, I remarked to DJ the other day, “I’d love to be able to turn weightless and invisible, and explore all these old falling-down houses.”

Pause.

“I’d probably walk through people’s houses too, just to see what they look like.

Pause.

“I don’t think I’d use this power responsibly.”

*

We recently spent a few days at Colonial Williamsburg. The College of William and Mary is right there next to the preserved colonial town, with a very much 21st century bookstore and cafe. Bookgirl remarked to me after we got a snack there, “I want to see if the college here has a good English program. Because I really like this bookstore and cafe.”

I assured her that most colleges have this sort of thing.

*

Ranger isn’t sure if he’s going to college because four years is a long time to be away from family.

*

Sparkler’s reader yesterday featured an interview with an author, so DJ assigned her to ask me three of the questions. Today she asked me the rest of the questions. Well, yes, I was pretty flattered that she wanted to hear more of my answers.

*

It’s a big year for Bookgirl, college considerations aside. She got her driver’s permit a couple of weeks ago, and has practiced in the driveway and behind the grocery store a time or two. I saw her sitting in the driver’s seat, and had a sudden flashback to this child:

Pigtails
Bookgirl in 2004

When did they start letting three-year-olds drive, anyway?

Okay, okay, I know she’s quite grown-up. A couple of months ago, she achieved a personal goal of many years. She now has red hair:

20170223_111116

Myself of 2004 would be all admiration for the beautiful young woman my pigtailed toddler has turned into.

*

How’s Gamerboy been lately? Well, back before Christmas he found a Dungeons & Dragons group at a local gaming store. Wednesdays are the highlight of his week. We don’t mind so much either. School and chores get knocked out with fearsome efficiency on Wednesdays. I’d say we all rolled high in this encounter.

*

Cosmic the Bunny is doing well too, thanks for asking. Here he is “at work.” Most mornings he sits under my chair as I write, and asks to be petted.

20170325_095208

Thanks for stopping in to catch up with the Joneses.

 

Leave a Reply

