Two-Scoop Sunday

Recently on a Sunday at the Joneses…

I let Gamerboy and Sparkler come along with me to my favorite hipster coffee shop where I go for solitude (and coffee). Gamerboy played with the chess set, while Sparkler sharpened her colored pencils. They convinced me to buy them a croissant, so I broke it in half and gave each part of it.

Then I picked up a little bit of the flaky crust off the table and popped it into my mouth.

Sparkler looked at me quizzically. “Did you just put a pencil shaving in your mouth?”

Why yes, that’s exactly what I’d done. It wasn’t nearly as good as the croissant.

*
Since I’m stalled between writing projects, my creative urge finds other ways to manifest. Today, a quiet Sunday afternoon, I thought kind of randomly, “I’d like to make something. Like, sew it.”

I’m really not good at sewing, partly because I haven’t had anywhere to set up my sewing machine for pretty much ever. But now my brain got to work. What if I…

  • … moved the TV desk to the window to become the sewing machine desk.
  • … moved the dresser to become the TV stand.
  • … glued foam bumpers on the dresser top to keep the TV from sliding.
  • … got the TV and cable hooked up again.
  • … tested the cable by watching 46 seconds of Food Network, and remembered why I don’t care if we have cable or not.
  • … take a moment here to add that the only reason we have cable was so we could watch the Olympics, and haven’t returned the box.
  • … set up the sewing machine.
  • … stared at the sewing machine with all of its various parts and wheels and hooks and wondered if I remembered how to do this.
  • …remembered how to do to it. Thanks, Mom!
  • … sewed a cute little cloth bag.
  • …looked up “easy sewing projects.”
  • … found instructions for making a simple skirt.
  • … discarded instructions.
  • … take a moment here to mention this is another reason why I’m bad at sewing.
  • … found cute ruffly sequiny dress that Sparkler has outgrown.
  • … turned it into a skirt, carefully following what I vaguely remembered of the instructions that I discarded.
  • … accomplished my creative goal. I made something.

Writing a novel is way less work.

*
Just to round things off, today Bookgirl is wearing a cat-ear headband for no discernible reason; and Ranger is laid out on his bed suffering from a condition known as “eating a dang lot of popcorn while seeing Kubo and the Two Strings with Dad and Sparkler.” I guess they’re the nuts on our Sunday today.

Leave a Reply

