Mundania: Mostly SJ

DJ yelped as he started up the van and music blasted out. “What was that?

“I told you I’ve been listening to Taylor Swift!” I said. It’s not like you can listen to This night is flawless/ Don’t you let it go/ I’m wonder struck/ Dancing around all alone/ I’ve spent forever/ Wondering if you knew/ I was enchanted to meet you on low volume. Honestly.

*
This is what happens when you get butter smeared on your phone’s camera lens. People with glasses can relate.

20160711_133645

*
My favorite thing to get at Dairy Queen is a chocolate-covered cherry Blizzard. In fact, it’s the only thing I ever get there because I can’t get it anywhere else.

I first discovered this flavor twenty-some years ago at the Dairy Queen closest to us, which was forty-five minutes away. They stopped listing it on the menu, but I always ordered it anyway.

One of my and DJ’s first dates was to that same Dairy Queen (because when you grow up in a tiny Southern town, you drive forty-five minutes for an ice cream date). I ordered the chocolate-covered cherry Blizzard, and I remember eating it while talking with this man that I’d pretty much decided I would marry.

Later, married and with a child, I discovered a DQ in my own town. I’d drive through at least once a week for my Blizzard, until baby Bookgirl figured it out and demanded her share.

After that, we’d stop there on our infrequent dates. About a quarter of the time, they made my Blizzard wrong, so I’d have to go back and explain the right way to make it: vanilla ice cream, dip-cone chocolate, and maraschino cherries.  After all, I’ve ordered it for over twenty years.

But this week I took the kids to DQ, and was informed—by a young employee who had no idea the blow she was dealing out—that the chain no longer carried maraschino cherries.

No cherries means… no chocolate-covered-cherry Blizzard.

I’m honestly crushed. A little bit of pleasure just passed away from my life. I’m going to miss that Blizzard.

*
This is what happens when you’re turning the corner of your hallway with a coffee cup in hand and you forget there’s still coffee in it.
20160705_080929

*
This is why I still dream about my childhood creek, which is a thousand miles away from me now.

13626444_633563306799709_673095564477057628_n

 

Leave a Reply

