Mundania: Donuts, Bunnies, and A Writer’s Life

It’s snowing here right now. Thirty-plus hours and thirty-plus inches. I’d say more about it now, but it’s going to be around for a long time so I’ll have plenty of time later. I’ll just move on to other topics.

*
For instance, how about donuts? Gamerboy and DJ sweetened the snowed-in experience with a batch of homemade sour cream donuts. However good that sounds to you, trust me, it was better. The donuts were simply superb.

20160123_192833

20160123_192852

(Substitute “doughnuts” if that is your preference.)

*
Clear, crisp winter nights are magical for me. I walk through the darkness, looking up at the stars, smelling wood smoke faintly on the air, and am deeply happy. There’s a memory in my past associated with a night like this — something wonderful like falling in love or a first kiss.

Except… I don’t actually have that memory. I don’t know why these nights strike such a chord in me. I strongly suspect that this good “memory” is actually something I made up years ago involving whatever set of characters I was writing about at the time.

Writers: we manufacture our own magical moments.

*
Remember that awful alien baby bunny?

20151216_155332

It improved dramatically in about three weeks’ time:

20160105_162159

*
Speaking of bunnies, here’s a picture of ours just because. He’s a very happy bunny here, all melted down because I was petting him. Also featured is a scrap of the latest book he was chewing on.

20160121_222345

*
My good friend was coming up with ideas for how to celebrate my birthday this year: “You could invite a bunch of friends to go around taking pictures of people who look like your characters.”

Writers: we list stalking as a business expense.

*
Okay, okay, I was going to leave off the snow pictures until a later post… but here you go. Two kids enjoying more snow than anybody could reasonably ask for.

20160123_160328

Leave a Reply

