The Personal Campaign of Sparkler Jones

Monday

8:23 a.m.: Sparkler has a thought. She remembers a My Little Pony color-with-water book that she enjoyed several months ago. She thinks, “I’d like to have one of those again.”

8:24 a.m.: Sparkler asks me if we can go to town and get a My Little Pony color-with-water book. I say, “Well, probably sometime. Not right now.”

8:36 a.m.: Sparkler inquires as to when we can go get a My Little Pony color-with-water book. I say, “I don’t know. Probably not today.”

8:56 a.m.: Sparkler calls me on my way to take Ranger to preschool. “Could you swing by Books-A-Million and get me a color-with-water book?”

“No.”

WHY NOT?”

“Because it’s ten miles out of my way and we’ve got school to do this morning!”

Other end of the line: GLOOOOM.

10:57 a.m.: Sparkler reminisces about having a My Little Pony color-with-water book.

11:45 a.m.: Sparkler remarks on how much she would like a My Little Pony color-with-water book. In irritation, I say she probably doesn’t even have enough money to buy one.

11:50 a.m.: Sparkler calls DJ at work and asks him to check how much birthday/allowance money she has in her account. She has enough.

11:55 a.m.: I assure her that we will get it for her. Soon. Just not today.

12:45 p.m.: As I walk out the door to go pick up Ranger, Sparkler says, “Can you stop by…”

“NO.”

2:25 p.m.: “It won’t take long to just drive over there and get it!”

2:45 p.m. “I have enough money! I don’t see why we can’t just go get it really quick!”

3:15 p.m. Post-it notes appear around the house:

20141105_110450
Happiness = My Little Pony color-with-water book. And you see what happens when you don’t have one. Do we really want to risk this?

6:30 p.m.: I tell Sparkler, “I’m going to drop you off at your class so I can run an errand.”

“Going to get a color-with-water…?”

“NO.”

Tuesday

8:15 a.m.: I walk out into the living room, still yawning. Sparkler says, “Good morning!”

“Good morning. Okay, y’all, I’m going to go vote. I’ll be back soon.”

“You know what I’m going to ask.”

“Books-a-Million isn’t even open yet!”

9:00-1:00: A scheduled playdate with a new friend fills up Sparkler’s whole morning with anticipation.

1:00-2:30: Fun playdate!

4:00 p.m.: Sparkler comments that now that she’s not playing with Kailee anymore, she’s bored. She’d really like a My Little Pony color-with-water book.

4:05 – 4:10 p.m. Loud argument ensues, ending when I drop the nuclear bomb: “If you don’t stop asking me about it, you will never get it!”

Wednesday

20141105_114530

= Happiness.

20141105_114837(0)Peace descends once again.

Leave a Reply

