Just Off the Highway

Each Sunday, I drive miles along highways lined with golden and orange trees, collecting little discoveries that I don’t notice during my weekday life.

For instance, this little blink of a town is named for this lantern-topped pole, which just sits there in the middle of the intersection. Seems like it should have a wrought-iron bar with a swinging slate that says, “____ Days Since Last Drunken Midnight Collision With Post.”

20141019_110111

Speaking of signs, I approached one and read:
Knee & Tattoo…

I took a second look, and this time understood it as:
Knee & Tool…

Finally, a third glance informed me it was a shop for:
Knife & Tool Sharpening

Which is much more useful, but way less interesting.

Similarly, I caught sight of a large tow truck bearing the logo, “RIP Towing.” It was only when I turned that I saw the rest of the lettering: “TRIP Towing.”

I usually don’t stop and get out during my drives. There’s something about the constant forward speed that is soothing. But this time I had to. Had to.

A day or so before, on my way to Target, I was approaching this intersection. Just after that highway sign, a small truck veered right and disappeared into the trees.

20141019_123111

I made two passes in each direction before I saw the hidden opening. It wasn’t a driveway, just tracks that went back into the woods. Nothing in me could resist finding out where it went.

So on this Sunday, I parked a quarter mile back and trooped through the woods along the highway. And I found it.

I stood on the track just off the highway, watching the cars speed past in oblivion.

20141019_121757 The path didn’t actually go anywhere, just a few feet to a dead end. I assume construction workers use it. Or hunters. Or spies. Maybe aliens?

20141019_121843

This is what my Sundays are right now. Driving along familiar stretches of road, finding out that there’s so much more to them than I see in the busyness of ordinary life.

It’s not a bad picture of the way I’d like to approach God.

2 thoughts on “Just Off the Highway

Leave a Reply

