A Couple of Grands, Part 3

Part 1
Part 2

Well, sure, the visit wasn’t big on action and adventure. But the scenery was really good (once you got out of my kitchen).

We celebrated DJ’s birthday and our 14th anniversary with an overnight to ourselves and a scenic train trip the next day. Do you like how I stated that so matter-of-factly, as if it’s no big deal that my in-laws kept our kids overnight and let us escape by ourselves? SQUEEEE! Oops. Sorry, my icy detachment slipped for a minute there.

Among the ideas and notes I jotted to myself during the two-hour trip up the track and back, I find these:

“The train has observation cars where we can lean out and enjoy the ride in the open. But it’s a steam train. Which burns coal. Which means that when I got back to my seat, I had cinders on my face, in my hair, and a fine collection in my cleavage. They never mention this in romance movies.”

“We felt like a couple of puppies hanging out the window of a truck.”

“I like being kissed in the open on a moving train.”

20141011_104630 20141011_105300(1) 20141011_134507 20141011_134516(1)20141011_135409

The visit was over much more quickly than we expected it to be. As I always tell my mom and my in-laws, I don’t mind that they have to leave. I just wish it wasn’t so far away from us.

They brought a lot of love, and took a lot back with them.

20141012_113118

PhillipPip

20141014_201958

2 thoughts on “A Couple of Grands, Part 3

Leave a Reply

