Cooking with SJ

Whipped Cream

If you’re asked to bring something to a party, you can’t go wrong with fresh whipped cream. That’s what I always do. “But SJ,” you say, “I was asked to bring the main dish.” I fail to see your point.

On the off-chance that your poor benighted friends don’t want whipped cream, then you get to eat it yourself. You just can’t go wrong.

The key with whipped cream is to let it come to room temperature first. Once it’s warm, pour it into a bowl, add about 1/3 cup of powdered sugar, and mix it with an immersion blender. It will whip up within a minute or two.

Whipped cream

Hang on. Maybe that’s egg whites you’re supposed to let warm up.

Good heavens, this whipped up in seconds. Dang it all, we’re beyond whipped cream. We’re well on our way to butter.

Um.

Add a little salt, and you can’t go wrong with fresh butter!

Butter

Whips up way faster than you’d think. Honestly, I really don’t know why all those pioneer women were always going on the burden of churning butter.

*

Apple Surprise

apples

After chopping onions, garlic, and other vegetables for fried rice, it’s smart to wipe out your bowl and re-use it, making cleanup afterward that much easier. I sliced Gala apples and served them in the bowl.

Plus, if you let them set out overnight in the bowl, the next morning you’re treated to the unusual flavor of onion-garlic apple slices. It’s a must-try recipe. I’m not laughing. Try it! Let me know what you think.

*

Overnight Oatmeal

banana-bread-overnight-oats-e1406763823693

This oatmeal looked like a fun recipe to try.

I didn’t have all the ingredients on hand, like chia seeds, plain yogurt, almond milk, or pecans. But I did have maple syrup, bananas, and oats. So it was a go.

Except it turned out that I didn’t have bananas, either.

I substituted milk, sour cream, and frozen crushed pineapple. Stirred it all together and put it in the fridge to sit overnight. As I was cleaning up, I licked pineapple off my fingers and realized why it hadn’t been frozen solid. It wasn’t exactly pineapple bits. It was, exactly, pineapple juice and coconut rum.

That was a darn good breakfast.

*

Join us next time for a tutorial on how to achieve just the right balance of cream-to-coffee (hint: Half-and-Half is more than just a product name!).

4 thoughts on “Cooking with SJ

Leave a Reply

