Dismal Creek Road

I’m still spending my Sunday mornings on the road.

I got about as far down Rt. 11 I as I could reasonably get in a morning, so recently I’ve varied my rambles a little. I didn’t really enjoy the trip I made two weeks ago, since the highway took me in toward D.C. The closer you get to the city, the richer and more self-consciously cute the towns get. I prefer to see places where, as my mother says, real people live.

Today I chose a different direction, and spotted a sign for Dismal Creek Road. Obviously I had to get off the interstate to drive that. It was narrow and winding, with lots of stretches under arching green trees.

There was a sign for a one-lane bridge, which I took seriously. I learned to drive in a small Southern county where one-lane bridges were a normal part of life, like waving at other drivers and holding up traffic to let somebody in. But this morning I rounded a curve, and all my startled brain took in was, “THERE IS NO ROAD JUST WATER.”

Haha, brain! It was just a wide creek. And there was a road across it. Kind of. The bridge was narrow, low, and made of concrete. It was definitely a one-lane bridge. In fact, as I edged my little yellow car onto it, a frantic estimate told me that it was about 27 inches wide, two miles long, and probably sagging in the middle.

20140817_112543

No, really, it was perfectly safe. Good thing, too, because there was steady traffic across it.

20140817_111205

I stopped to wade for a while. And also collect rocks, because that’s what happens when I stop at a Virginia creek.

20140817_111335

I’m collecting skipping rock for my father-in-law’s visit in October. That’s one way we’ve bonded, skipping rocks together when we happen to be on the waterside. Until, of course, he skips his rocks better than I do mine, at which point I get tired of bonding.

I turned off Dismal Creek Road onto Happy Hollow Road (I did change the road names slightly for this post, but it captures the dramatic emotional life of the road-sign-maker.) Under the deep green trees, a breeze threw down some yellow leaves. Fall is coming, but today it’s still summer.

It was a fine day for driving. Thanks for coming along.

One thought on “Dismal Creek Road

Leave a Reply

