Kid Bits (feat. Ranger)

One morning this week, I walked into the kitchen to find Ranger sitting at the table, eating cereal and milk.

“Did you get yourself breakfast?” I asked.

He nodded, his mouth full. I said, “Good for you!” It’s a nice feeling seeing your kids become self-sufficient.

He swallowed his mouthful and clarified, “It’s chocolate chips.”

It was. Lots of them, in fact.

 

**
“This is my recipe!” Ranger announced, and proceeded to list:

5 cups water
3 cups flour
1 cup water
Add sugar
More water

Mix it up.

Sparkler asked skeptically, “What does that make?”

“I don’t know!” Ranger said. “Let’s mix it up and see!”

**
I taught Ranger a basic handclap game, the kind that little girls do by the hour while chanting rhymes. It lasted about two rounds before he turned it into a basic rhythmic punching game.

**
I was heading for the bathroom. Ranger exclaimed, “I will open the door for you!” But the bedroom door was already open. The bathroom door was already open. In a burst of desperate chivalry, Ranger put up the toilet lid for me.

 

2 thoughts on “Kid Bits (feat. Ranger)

  1. lol. the toilet lid! 🙂 Um, Sara eventually you’ll have to explain. That conversation might be awkward with a future wife or girlfriend. 😉

Leave a Reply

